HHS Theater Production Anything Goes Nominated for “Outstanding Musical”

Natalie Taylor, Layout

Hershey High School’s musical, Anything Goes, and various cast members get nominated for Apollo Awards.

The Apollo Awards nominations for musicals were released on April 26, 2019 via Facebook. The awards show released nominations for the plays earlier this year on January 31, 2019.

The Apollo Awards are a local spin off of the popular Tony Awards. The show is held at the Hershey Theatre and many schools from around Central Pennsylvania participate. Between all the performances, awards are given away to the winners of each category.

Hershey’s Anything Goes musical and cast got nominated for five Apollos. The pit is nominated for “Outstanding Student Orchestra” and one of the big dance numbers in the show, “Blow, Gabriel, Blow,” got nominated for “Outstanding Dance Number in a Musical.”

The whole musical overall got nominated for “Outstanding Musical.” Hershey has won this award in previous years for their productions of Crazy for You, Into the Woods, and Urinetown.

Patrick Gavazzi received a nomination for “Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical” for his role as Moonface Martin. Last year Gavazzi was nominated for “Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical” for his role as Captain Hook in Peter Pan.

Myah Koepfer received a nomination for “Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical” for her role as Reno Sweeney. Koepfer has gone to two other Apollo Awards before, but this is her first time being nominated.

Along with nominations, Honorable Mentions were released as well. Tori Moss got an Honorable Mention for “Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical” for her role of Erma, and Tryston Morgan in “Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical” for his role of Lord Evelyn Oakleigh.

The Apollo Awards will be held May 19, 2019 from 7pm-10pm.

Patrick Gavazzi (left) and Myah Koepfer (right) performing the song “Friendship” during a dress rehearsal of “Anything Goes” at Hershey High School. Both of the performers are nominated for an Apollo Award. (Phil Ayala)