Mofi Oladipo wins Sophomore Class presidency


From left to right, Mofi Oladipo, Maggie Lawall, Mallory Gillespie, and Irena Potochny pose for the camera on May 23rd, 2019. Oladipo was elected as President, Lawall for Vice President, Gillespie for Secretary, and Potochny for Treasurer for the Sophomore Student Council Officers. (Broadcaster/Karen Liu)

Karen Liu, Reporter

The ninth grade student body elected Mofifoluwa (Mofi) Oladipo to be President for the 2019-2020 Student Council during elections on May 16 and 17, 2019. Oladipo ran against two other candidates.

Maggie Lawall will be the future Vice President. Lawall also ran against two candidates.

Irena Potochny, the upcoming Treasurer, and Mallory Gillespie, the upcoming Secretary, both ran unopposed in the elections.

Oladipo, Lawall, Potochny, and Gillespie are going to be Student Council Officers, leaders of Student Council. There are also positions on the council for standard representatives.

There were 24 candidates in the election ballot running for a Student Council position, and 23 candidates running for a representative position. Candidates could run for an officer position and/or a representative position. Nine students were elected to represent the student body next year.

According to Barbara Clouser, the Student Council Advisor, there were 182 students who voted of the 303 students in ninth grade.

The winning candidates were announced over the speaker at the end of the day on May 22nd, 2019. Results were expected to be announced earlier. However, they were not approved in time by the principal.

Student Council’s mission is to provide a platform for students to express their opinions and concerns. Members work with HHS teachers and staff to coordinate class activities throughout the year.